Friday, August 7, 2009

Ferris In The News

Doyle Named to Michigan Restaurant Association Board

The Michigan Restaurant Association announced the election of Julie Doyle of Big Rapids as a member to its board of directors. Doyle is the coordinator of Hospitality programs and an associate professor at Ferris State University, the Big Rapids Pioneer reports. “Julie Doyle is knowledgeable and is passionate about educating tomorrow’s leaders in the hospitality industry,” said Rob Gifford, president and chief executive officer of the MRA. “We are pleased she has joined our board of directors.” As an active member with the Michigan Lodging and Tourism Association, Hotel Sales Marketing Association International, Kent County Lodging Association, Michigan Council of Hotel and Institutional Educators, and the Michigan Hospitality Educators Alliance Career Fair, Doyle has earned a variety of experience in the hospitality industry.

College of Optometry Dean Search Coming to a Close

Ferris State University could soon have a new dean to go along with a brand new building for its Michigan College of Optometry, reports the Big Rapids Pioneer. The search for a new dean, which has been narrowed down to three finalists, could be completed within a week, Ferris Vice President for Academic Affairs Fritz Erickson said. “It’s important that we do a thorough job with the search,” he said. “But with the new academic year starting in a few weeks, we’d like the search to be resolved soon.” Open sessions for the three finalists were held in June, with the campus able to get a closer look at the candidates. The finalists include Michigan College of Optometry professor Mark Swan, MCO professor Michael Cron and external candidate Timothy Wingert. The new dean will be responsible for a student body of more than 140 students and 22 full-time faculty, but also will play a role in overseeing the construction of the new MCO building.

Ferris Announces 2009 Athletics Hall of Fame Class

Ferris State University announced the 2009 class for its Athletics Hall of Fame. The seven-member class includes Monty Brown (football), Andy Roach (hockey), former athletic director Dean Davenport, Deb Bolinger (softball), Tim Herman (basketball), Bill Scheible (football) and Karen (Kramer) Trierweiler (basketball), the Big Rapids Pioneer reports. A 15-member selection committee of faculty, staff, alumni and community members chose the inductees from among 35 nominees. “With this being the 10th anniversary of starting the Hall of Fame, I am continually amazed at the tremendous attributes of the former Bulldogs that are being inducted each year,” said Ferris Athletics Director Tom Kirinovic. “These seven inductees are all folks that any Bulldog supporter would be extremely proud to include as members of the Hall of Fame.” The seven new inductees will join 88 honorees already enshrined during the 10th annual Induction Banquet on Oct. 30 at Ferris’ Jim Wink Arena in Big Rapids. Read more at

No comments:

Post a Comment