Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Ferris In The News

English Researcher Discusses Diversity, Tours Jim Crow Museum

Michigan wasn’t the first place Zadvinder Padda thought of when he received a fellowship to study nonprofits for minority groups in the United States and Toronto. During his monthlong stay, Padda is meeting with minority groups and experts on cultural diversity to gain a better understanding of how different groups interact, the Big Rapids Pioneer reports. Padda, a nonprofit consultant and police officer in the United Kingdom visited Ferris, touring the Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia and speaking with Chief Diversity Officer David Pilgrim. Pilgrim, Padda and Mecosta County Commissioner Kevin Courtney discussed prejudices, the U.S. civil rights movement, and ideas for combating racism in Big Rapids and beyond. “I get to lead and advocate for change,” Pilgrim said.

Alumnus Inducted into U.P. Sports Hall of Fame

The Upper Peninsula Sports Hall of Fame has announced its 2010 class selected recently by the group’s executive council, The Mining Journal of Marquette reports. Selected this year are Bob Mariucci of Iron Mountain, George Atanasoff of Caspian, Scott Erickson of Marquette, Jerry Gallagher and Lew Reiman of Iron River, Ira “Hack” Hanson of Munising, Jim Lindstrom of Iron Mountain and Escanaba, Tammie (Anderson) Mrachek of Ironwood, and Bret Pearson and Len Umnus of Menominee. Also to be inducted will be Ann (Somerville) Besaneney of Ironwood, who was selected last year but was unable to attend the banquet due to a conflict with college classes. The 2010 class will be inducted April 24, 2010, at The Danforth Place in Escanaba. Winner of a record five Upper Peninsula Golf Association men’s championships, Erickson won numerous tourneys across the U.P. from 1972-95. The former Ferris State University golfer was a medalist in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference tournament in 1976 and 1978 and all-district MVP. He was Newberry Golf Club champion six times, was Marquette Golf Club champ four times and won the Newberry Open four times.

No comments:

Post a Comment